Bear River

The Bear River Commission is created by a three-state compact between Idaho, Utah and Wyoming; comprised of a federal representative, appointed by the president, and three members from each of the states.

Utah Code specifies that Utah's Interstate Streams Commissioner shall be the chairman of Utah's delegation to the Bear River Commission. In addition, a commissioner from the Bear River Basin (above Bear Lake) and a commissioner from the basin (below Bear Lake) are appointed by the Board of Water Resources with the consent of the governor. An alternate for each of the two can also be appointed. By law, these four persons must be irrigators and live on irrigated farms located in the basin.  There is no time limit on the term of these commissioners, but by practice the board has acted on the appointments every four years. There is also a technical committee made up of professional staff from each of the states.