Bear River Watershed Council

Welcome to the Bear River Watershed Council page!

The Bear River Watershed Council is one of the 12 local watershed councils that will operate in Utah.

Current Status

The Bear River Local Watershed Council was certified by the Utah Watersheds Council in accordance with the statutory requirements of the Utah Watershed Councils Act on July 13th, 2023 and is currently active.


Local watershed councils encourage and facilitate discussion and collaboration of water-related issues and concerns among the stakeholders within the watershed. As feasible, each watershed council will facilitate communication and coordination among the following interests:

  • Agriculture
  • Industry
  • Utah tribal nations
  • Public water suppliers
  • Water planning and research institutions
  • Water quality
  • Fish and wildlife
  • Water dependent habitat and environments
  • Watershed management
  • Mutual irrigation companies
  • Local sponsors of reclamation projects

Each local watershed council will designate one representative to serve on the statewide Utah Watersheds Council, where issues of concern can be brought to the attention of the Legislature and governor.

For general inquires, email

Photo by Aaron Fortin | Janey Quinney Lawson Institute for Land, Water, and Air.

Meeting Schedule & Minutes

All meetings will be held at the following address unless otherwise noted in the table below:

Bear River Water Conservancy District
102 W Forest Street
Brigham City, UT 84302




Agenda | Minutes

April 27, 2023

2:00 p.m. - 3:30 p.m.

Bear River Water Conservancy

September 21, 2023

2:00 p.m. - 3:30 p.m.

Bear River Water Conservancy

A | M

December 6, 2023

2:00 p.m. - 3:30 p.m.

Bear River Water Conservancy

A | M


Current members of the council are listed below:


Title or Interest Represented

Christie Hansen, Chair

North Park Irrigation Company

Carl Mackley, Vice Chair

Bear River Water Conservancy District

Connely Baldwin


Lewis Chandler

Bear Lake Watch

Nathan Daugs*

Cache Water Conservation District

Jim Derito

Trout Unlimited

Stephen Griffin

Agriculture in Cache County, Newton Dam

Jeff Hardy

Agriculture in Box Elder County, Bear River Canal Company

Riggin Holmgren

Agriculture in Box Elder County

Mark Hurd

Cache County Council, Hyde Park Irrigation Company

Kirt Lindley

Cache Water Conservation District, Hyrum Reservoir

Ann Neville

The Nature Conservancy

Trevor Nielson

Bear River Canal Company

Brad Parry

Northwestern Band of the Shoshone Nation

Tyler Pugsley

Brigham City Public Works

ValJay Rigby

Agriculture in Cache County, Farm Bureau

Jeannie Simmonds

Cache Water Conservation District, Logan City Council

Stan Summers

Box Elder County Commissioner

Burdette Wilson

Agriculture in Rich County

Matt Yost

Utah State University Extension

*This individual also represents the Bear River Watershed Council on the Utah Watersheds Council.


Liaisons to the council are listed below:


Title or Interest Represented

Erin Holmes

Project Manager, Bear River Migratory Bird Refuge

Jake Serago

Bear River Area Planning Specialist, Utah Division of Water Resources

Jaron Andrews

Mountain Prairie Region of the US Fish and Wildlife Service

Melissa Early

Utah Division of Wildlife Resources


If you would like to be informed about the Bear River Watershed Council, or if you have any questions or ideas for the council, please contact us. We are here to serve you and help ensure that the council brings benefits to you and the state of Utah.