Utah Watersheds Council

The Utah Watersheds Council is a state council that is directed to serve as a forum to encourage and facilitate discussion and collaboration by and among the stakeholders relative to the water-related interests of the state and the state’s people and institutions. The specific duties of the state council include the following:

  • Facilitate communication and coordination between the Department of Natural Resources, the Department of Agriculture and Food, the Department of Environmental Quality, and other state and federal agencies in the administration and implementation of water-related activities
  • Facilitate the establishment of local watershed councils by certifying a local council
  • Provide resources and support for the administration of local councils
  • Consult and seek guidance from local councils
  • Provide advice to the governor and legislature on water issues

The Division of Water Resources provides staff and administrative support for the council and will ensure that meetings of the council are properly noticed on the Public Meeting Website and that the council’s policies are available through its public website.

The Utah Watersheds Council will provide updates on its activities annually, or as invited, to: the Natural Resources, Agriculture, and Environment Interim Committee; the Legislative Water Development Commission; and the Utah Water Task Force.

Meeting Schedule & Minutes

All meetings will be held at the following address unless otherwise noted in the table below:

Department of Natural Resources (DNR)
1594 West North Temple, Auditorium
Salt Lake City, UT 84114




Meeting Link

Agenda | Minutes

January 6, 2022

1:00 - 4:00 p.m.

DNR Auditorium

Live | Recording

A | M

April 14, 2022

12:00 - 3:00 p.m.

DNR Auditorium/Virtual

Live | Recording

A | M

July 14, 2022 **


DNR Auditorium/Virtual

Live | Recording

A | M

October 13, 2022 **


DNR Auditorium/Virtual

Live | Recording

A | M

**These dates are tentative and subject to change.


The membership of the Utah Watersheds Council is dictated by the Watershed Councils Act. Current members of the council are listed below:


Title or Interest Represented

Brian Steed

Kim Shelley

Craig Buttars

Dustin Jansen

Ken White

Kris Hamlet

Victor Iverson

Mark Stratford

Corey Cram

Scott Paxman

Reclamation project sponsors

Val Jay Rigby


Marcelle Shoop

Environment and Conservation

Rikki Rhenko-Browning

Business and Industry


A designated individual from each of the local watershed councils (12) will be added to the council membership after each local council is formally organized.


Under Construction – A copy of the council’s organizational documents (policies and procedures) will be posted here after they have been adopted by the council.


If you would like to be informed about the Utah Watersheds Council, or if you have any questions or ideas for the council, please contact us. We are here to serve you and help ensure that the council brings benefits to you and the State of Utah.