Weber River Watershed Council

Welcome to the Weber River Watershed Council page!

The Weber River Watershed Council is one of the 12 local watershed councils that will operate in Utah.

Current Status

The Weber River council was certified by the Utah Watersheds Council in accordance with the statutory requirements of the Utah Watershed Councils Act on July 13, 2023 and is currently active.


Local watershed councils are created to encourage and facilitate discussion and collaboration or water-related issues and concerns among the stakeholders within the watershed. As feasible, the watershed council will facilitate communication and coordination among the following interests:

  • Agriculture
  • Industry
  • Utah tribal nations
  • Public water suppliers
  • Water planning and research institutions
  • Water quality
  • Fish and wildlife
  • Water dependent habitat and environments
  • Watershed management
  • Mutual irrigation companies
  • Local sponsors of reclamation projects

Each local watershed council will designate one representative to serve on the Utah Watersheds Council, where issues of concern can be brought before the Legislature and governor.

For general inquires, email

Council members and Division of Wildlife Resources staff preparing for an airboat tour of Ogden Bay (June 7, 2023).

Meeting Schedule & Minutes

All meetings will be held at the following address unless otherwise noted in the table below:

Weber Basin Water Conservancy District
2837 E Hwy 193
Layton, UT, 84040




Agenda | Minutes

August 24, 2023

10 a.m. - 11:30 a.m.

Weber Basin Water Conservancy District

October 19, 2023

10 a.m. - 11:30 a.m.

Weber Basin Water Conservancy District

A | M

March 25, 2024

1 p.m. - 2:30 p.m.

Weber Basin Water Conservancy


Current members of the council are listed below:


Title or Interest Represented

Jeff Young, Chair

Ensign Ranches

Wes Siddoway, Vice-Chair


Darren Hess, Secretary

Weber Basin Water Conservancy District

McKinley Smoot


Logan Wilde


Jess Kirby

Summit County

Dawna Zukirmi

Destination Sports

Cody Zesiger

USU Extension

Mike Luers

Snyderville Basin Water Reclamation District

Rick Smith*

Davis and Weber Canal Company

Brad Parry

Northwestern Band of the Shoshone

Tanner Cox

Trout Unlimited

Doug Evans

Oakley City

Dave Larson

South Weber County

R. Jefre Hicks

Friends of the Great Salt Lake

Kate Sattelmeier

Summit Land Conservancy

*This individual will also represent the Weber River Watershed Council on the Utah Watersheds Council.


Liaisons to the council are listed below:


Title or Affiliation

Dwight Slaugh

Bureau of Reclamation

Brian Christensen

Utah Department of Agriculture and Food

Cody Edwards

U.S. Department of Agriculture

Clint Brunson

Utah Division of Wildlife Resources

Rich Hansen

Ogden Bay Waterfowl Management Area

Sean Cannon

Hill Air Force Base




If you would like to be informed about the Weber River Watershed Council, or if you have any questions or ideas for the council, please contact us. We are here to serve you and help ensure that the council brings benefits to you and the state of Utah.